top of page

DADDY

Dear Dad,

I'm not writing this letter to get closure because I always want to think of you since our love will last forever! I'm writing this because you died suddenly in your sleep while on a business trip at four seasons hotel in Greensboro, nc on September 19, 1995. I was in my final year of grad school at vcu in Richmond and you and mom helped me take care of michelle who was 3yrs old at the time, when I had to go out of town for classes on Mondays @ 5am until Tuesday's @ 6pm. That Sunday when we came to your house to spend the night, you told me to be on time because you had to leave for your trip at 6 pm and you wanted to see us, especially michelle, before you left. You told me not to be late...as I sometimes am. That night, however, I was early and you left earlier than 6pm. Why? I never got to say goodbye for your trip or goodbye forever from this physical life. I torchered myself for weeks and months trying to recall our last conversation. I couldn't recall what we said! I finally had to let it go...I still can't remember. I know I've missed you everyday over the past twenty years. You now have eight grandchildren, not five, and two great grandchildren, Layla, 2 1/2yrs old and Donovan, who only lived six hours on 11/2/10. These are carmen's children, cathy's grandchildren. Paul has been sober nearly 12 yrs now and does great! You'd be so proud of him. Rick is still at the shipyard and supervising. He's doing well. Cheryl is nursing now, got her RN. I hot my master of social work degree in May of 1996. I almost couldn't finish school because my grief interfered with my ability to read and think. I came ho e from Richmond on Tuesday, September 20th and saw the cars in the driveway. I knew something terrible had happened....you were gone. Everyone else knew already, but me. The kids were all 3-5 yrs old then and I helped them make cards and cookies, scrapbooks for you. We brought things to your gravesite. Since then nick i.e., Wesley, and Annabelle were born and growing up. Michelle is the first grandchild to get a bachelor degree last year and she teaches 5th grade in Franklin county, va. She is 23 yrs old and has been dating Chris, her wonderful boyfriend about 5 yrs now. I think they will be marrying soon. I will help with her wedding costs as much as possible. I love my work in organ donation, working with grieving families. Losing you prepared me for this work some. I kissed a few frogs over the years but finally met my Prince Charming, Don, in February this year. He is the best man I've known, short of you. Don proposed to me in May, I accepted. We bought a home together later in May, got married in July and have been so happy since we met! I adore him and he reminds me of the gentleman you were. You would love him! I found a menu from scale of the whale, the best date I'd ever had....and it was with you in the late 1980's at that restaurant which has since burned down. My best date now is on February 22, 2015, with my now husband. Mom is well, cathy too. She is married to dave, annabelle's dad. Jacob is living in Texas, Michelle in Roanoke, me & Don in Norfolk, and everyone else is still on the peninsula, except Nicky is second yr at UVA and Wesley ( named after you) is second yr at George mason in northern Virginia. Everyone is well and healthy. We miss you terribly, still. I love and miss you every day. See you soon! Love, your daughter, tina

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page